Being Quiet

I’ve been reading a book called “Quiet: The Power Of Introverts In A World That Can’t Stop Talking” by Susan Cain.

I’m part way through the book and it is very interesting. I have always known that I am an introvert, but since reading sections of her book I have come to the conclusion that I’m highly sensitive as well. However not all introverts are highly sensitive and not all highly sensitive people are introverts.
I tend to be the quieter one in my group of college friends, I think a lot and I feel things very deeply. I am also empathetic and very spiritual. My parents say I’m quiet to the point of silence, but I don’t always feel the need to verbalise everything. I enjoy company but I have to take time to process things otherwise I get over-stimulated and frazzled. It is a fascinating book and it gives me some insights into the way I am.

Being quiet doesn’t always mean you don’t want to talk, it just means you take time to think things through.

Leave a Reply

