Books that help me deal with life

I tend to read my way through life. Going through a rough time at the moment and I’m finding solace in conversation, listening to music and reading books. As noted in a previous post I am a real bookworm. Some of the books which have helped me so far are When Bad Things Happen To Good People by Harold S Kushner and The Four Agreements by Miguel Ruiz, plus any books from the brilliant Chicken Soup For The Soul series by Jack Canfield & Mark Victor Hansen.

jack-chicken-soup

I cannot remember when I first picked up my first Chicken Soup book, but I can remember the title of it – Chicken Soup For The Teenage Soul. I still refer to it now even though I’m not a teen anymore. The stories from any book in the series give you hope and remind you that you’re never alone.

The Four Agreements is a very simple and easy-to-read book based on four concepts:
Be impeccable with your word

Don’t take anything personally

Don’t make assumptions

Always do your best
tumblr_inline_ms60bpmtiF1qz4rgpThe-Four-Agreements

When Bad Things Happen To Good People is about finding peace when the going gets tough. Written by a rabbi who lost his 14-year-old son to an incurable genetic disease, it explores why there is so much pain in the world and how we can find peace despite it.

whenbadthingshappentogoodpeople

I know I will continue to read books of any genre to help me through my tough times. I will explore this topic throughout my blog regularly.

Leave a Reply

