My Favourite Female Rockers

The spark for this post came from a library book. I’m currently reading She Bop: The Definitive History Of Women In Popular Music by Lucy O’Brien.

I love music and rock music is my favourite genre. I would say 95% of the music I listen to is rock. I can find something in almost every genre to love – reggae, pop, rap, soul, country – and it is the same with rock. I don’t have many female rockers in my collection but that is probably because I haven’t explored this enough. With rock being such a broad genre, I will give anything a listen – made easier by the likes of YouTube and probably Spotify (note to self: download free version ASAP).

I have always loved Joan Jett, Debbie Harry, Chrissie Hynde, Suzi Quatro and Cher. I thought they were feisty, smart, tough, fearless and badass – traits that I aspire to have. Even within country music, I admire women like Dolly Parton, Reba McEntire, Trisha Yearwood, Martina McBride and Carrie Underwood.

I have recently started listening to Girlschool and the Runaways, and they sound brilliant. It is not just the music that draws me to these women; it is also their style, fashion sense and the way they carry themselves. They are confident and sassy.

This post is not to bash the several male artists and bands that regularly receive heavy rotation on my iPod but to give credit to the spunky females I adore.

Cher

Cher Sept 2010 – looking every inch the rock chick!

 

 

Suzi Quatro

Suzi Quatro 1970s – sassy 🙂

debbie harry

Debbie Harry 1970s – Blondie’s femme fetale

joan jett

Joan Jett 1970s – love her style

chrissiehynde

Chrissie Hynde – oozing cool like a female Keith Richards

Leave a Reply

